DALC's 3rd Annual Excellence Awards: Winners Announced

Now in their third year, DALC's Excellence Awards also moved 'online' at the AGM, and winners were as follows:

BHIB Council of the YearRipley Town Council; Highly Commended – Hartshorne PC.

Blachere Illumination Clerk of the Year – Jayne Simpson, Blackwell PC; Highly Commended – Emma Smith (Barlow PC), Charlotte Taylor (Wingerworth PC)

Councillor of the Year – Cllr Dexter Bullock, Blackwell PC; Highly Commended – Cllr Charles Cutting (Ripley TC), Cllr Ross Shipman (Tupton PC)

To give our winners their moment in the Zoom spotlight (!), we pre-arranged photos in the week before the AGM. Thanks to all of them for keeping it a secret until announcement day, and thanks, too, to our ongoing sponsors Blachere Illumination (Clerk category), and BHIB Councils Insurance (Council category).

Winner of Clerk of the Year, Blackwell's Jayne Simpson, said: "Cllr Bullock and myself were surprised and delighted in equal measure to receive our awards. Having worked so closely with Clerks and Chairmen from Derbyshire Councils via Zoom during the Covid crisis and seeing what fabulous people we have in our County, it is very humbling to be chosen as winners."

Linda McCormick, clerk of Ripley Town Council, added: "This is a great honour and really raises our profile. It makes the whole of Ripley really proud, and helps make the electorate aware of the work done by our very proactive Council."

Posted: Fri, 06 Nov 2020 12:18 by Wendy Amis

Tags: AGM, awards